Sign in to follow this  
Gatsby17

How does Western look at your cGPA

So my cGPA is basically terrible. Its sitting at a 3.0

But i am taking extra courses to boost my Last two years GPA 

after taking these courses my L2 should be sitting at a 3.6 (hopefully)

My question is will western really look at my cGPA? How much would the cGPA have an affect on my application if I end up boosting my L2 gpa?

Hope that makes sense

Posted (edited)

I'm sorry to tell you that with a cGPA like yours, a 3.7 L2/B2 and a 173 LSAT, I was waitlisted at Western a few cycles back. Either they absolutely hated my personal statement, or they care more about cGPA than some people here claim. I got in (without being waitlisted) everywhere else but UofT, so I don't think my personal statement was notably terrible.

Others here have had different experiences, I have no insider experience, I'm just telling you what my experience was. It was odd.

Edited by CleanHands

Thanks for your reply

what schools did you end up getting accepted to ?

No they aren't im going to go back as a non degree student and take them 

I think im going back for like five courses. still confirming how many courses i have to take to boost that L2 gpa 

I would recommend you double check with Admissions to see if they'll consider part time courses as part of their L2 calculation.

just confirmed that western will look at any non degree courses whether they are taken as full time or part time 

Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, CleanHands said:

I'm sorry to tell you that with a cGPA like yours, a 3.7 L2/B2 and a 173 LSAT, I was waitlisted at Western a few cycles back.

Did you apply General or discretionary (mature, etc.)?

Edited by dimsum1

2 hours ago, Gatsby17 said:

Thanks for your reply

what schools did you end up getting accepted to ?