seallover

[Serious] How do you feel law schools embrace diversity? Can it be improved?

Right off the bat, this is a serious inquiry and something I have been genuinely concerned about lately.

This means a lot to me because I have lived in Canada all my life and identify myself as a die-hard hockey-crazed Canadian citizen. However, people tend to nitpick how I was not born here (came to Canada when I was less than one years old), appear non-white, and because I have a "foreign name" people would assume that I am an international student with poor English. Yes, I have had some tough years being bullied because of my name to the point I felt ashamed having it because teachers asked if I could change it to deter the bullying. Or having heard the infamous phrase off the street, “go back to your own country.” Of course, I by no means have experienced the worst and am proud to have tackled a lot of these barriers growing up, but I do feel is a responsibility to highlight that this is real problem that does happen in Canada.

I can see how someone can assume common trends they experience which results to manifest into dangerous over-generalizations and stereotypes, but thankfully we are becoming more self-aware of these situations and striving towards promoting awareness and education.

I really would like to start a productive conversation on how you may feel your university lacks or promotes diversity. Whether it is making racism/gender/sexism/etc workshops mandatory, having different applicant streams, or pretending nothing is wrong, I’m really curious. Is it enough? What do you envision being more appropriate during this day and age? If this wasn’t an experience you connect with, can you still think of things that could be done?