Rusty164

Please convince me why Ryerson is a good idea

I absolutely despise the notion of Ryerson Law and everything that I have learned about it to the extent that it's affecting my interest in this profession entirely. However, I would like to understand why the LSO accredited this institution and why it's a good idea, because it's eating me up inside and I want to be optimistic. Also, if you are a current Ryerson student (or faculty or staff), please don't take this personally, but please don't reply, because that's too obviously biased. For the record I am a law student of another Ontario school, but I also find the trend of increasing class sizes and tuition very concerning, although I've personally accepted the debt load and the fact that law is not a "golden ticket" a long time ago.

Specifically I'm wondering:

Is Ryerson Law good for the profession and the "legal market"?

Is Ryerson Law good for the public and "access to justice"?

• Like 1
  • Confused 2

Posted (edited)
7 minutes ago, Rusty164 said:

I absolutely despise the notion of Ryerson Law and everything that I have learned about it to the extent that it's affecting my interest in this profession entirely.

7 minutes ago, Rusty164 said:

Also, if you are a current Ryerson student (or faculty or staff), please don't take this personally, but please don't reply, because that's too obviously biased.

You're not exactly inviting a civil and balanced discussion by starting from an extreme position and pre-emptively shutting down participation from the group of people who arguably know the most about the Ryerson program.

EDIT: If you're in 2L/3L, I'd recommend putting Ryerson out of your mind entirely if it bothers you that much. You're not even competing with Ryerson students for jobs unless you're in 1L. 

Edited by canuckfanatic
  • Like 6

Posted (edited)
4 minutes ago, canuckfanatic said: