law156

Masters or Law School

Hi everyone,

I graduated from university with a four degree (20 credits) and did not perform well in terms of grade. I went back to university for a GPA upgrade for about 2.5 years-13 full time credits in total. I graduated with a 3.7 CGPA. Although taking this path was a long road, I am glad that I went back to improve my grades since it will open doors for me to higher education. I have been working for about 1 year since then. Now my concern is: when I take the cumulative average of my CGPA-It’s 2.85 (under 3.0).  But my L2 would be 3.7. I am in the process of studying for the LSAT and aim to write it in August/September and would apply in November.

With my scores, do I really have a chance in law school? I want to be realistic and practical about my chances. I have applied to a master’s program public policy with Co-op: if I get in, I am thinking of maybe pursuing that. And working for a few years and apply as a mature student. Or just making a career in public policy and forget about law school.

Preferably, I would like to go to law school, but what’s been my concern is my chances of getting in, that’s why I came up with a back up plan just in case.

I would also like to add that If I did get into law school I would be around 29. I do plan on having kids in the next few years as well. I am also taking that into consideration as well. At this point in life, I do want to make some concrete decisions about what path I want to take.

Any advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Posted (edited)

You will be able to get into L2 schools with a decent LSAT and have a shot basically anywhere in Canada but UofT if you really, really crush the LSAT (statistically unlikely, but possible).

You really don't want to have kids while in law school though...

Edited by CleanHands

Is the Aug/Sept LSAT going to be your first write?