Sign in to follow this  
FutureLaywer

Chances of acceptance into McGill Law?

Posted (edited)

I was wondering what are the chances of me getting accepted into McGill Law with a CGPA of 3.8/4.3? (Not sure if this helps but i'm majoring in Finance). My volunteer/experience is strong. For example, right now I'm an advisor at a non-profit legal clinic. Also, is it okay if I repeated 2 courses (1 due to Covid, and the other because of a poor grade)

Edited by FutureLaywer

You have a chance in the sense that you shouldn't be discouraged from applying but shouldn't necessarily expect to be admitted.

What does being an advisor at the legal clinic entail? It's good to be involved in extracurriculars but, from an admissions perspective, I'm not sure what the experience is good for except for signalling an interest in law (which is generally just assumed) but this might be different depending on the nature of your involvement.

The repeated course thing isn't a deal breaker but should probably be kept to a minimum.

Posted (edited)

I started off as a secretary, but now i'm an Advisor. I under went 2 months of training and I now give legal information and support to clients in areas of housing, welfare, pensions, family allowances, etc. I explain people their rights and check for eligibility for certain government programs by evaluating their financial situations for instance. I also help with landlord/tenant disputes and prepare people for rental board hearings. I am also involved in a debate committee at school, and multiple other organizations. 

I also have experience in marketing (volunteered at a centre for advocacy as a marketing coordinator) , finance (taught workshops), and fundraising. Also worked in a construction company. I am also planning on doing internships. 

Sorry this is a lot of information. I just really want to be accepted. I am also being mentored by a tax lawyer. 

Edited by FutureLaywer

Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, msk2012 said: