needhelp11

5+ year solo practice lawyer, Bond graduate - my experience

I am a Bond Unversity graduate and have had my own law practice for approximately five years now. I was also a mature age student when I went to Bond University. I have now had my law practice for 5 years. I wanted to share my thoughts to this Message Board: 

1. Competition/ work ethic - In undergrad and after a brief career in IT, I can say I did not have good work ethic or motivation. I had low marks in both undergrad and LSAT.  But the experience of going to law school at Bond allowed me to shift into much higher gear. The education was of high quality. All of my classmates were in law school, paying a lot of money to be there and had high drive and motivation. The grades were marked on a curve and thus there was some healthy competition from your classmates. This competition allowed me to develop the work ethic and organization that has been ingrained in me. So, the law school experience really challenges oneself to improve dramatically, regardless of law school. 

2. The name of the law school might matter a little at the beginning, but matters less and less as one's career progresses.  What law school you went to matters a bit, but it's just one factor out of so many others. What is your personality like? Will you fit in? Do you know how to articulate your valie? Do you offer any unique competitive advantages? What's your life experience like? etc. etc. 

Also,  after you gain some work experience, that might be more valuable to a firm than someone with lawschool and no work experience. 

3. I started my own solo law firm. Currently, it would make no difference if I went to Harvard or Bond whatsoever.