EndofTIme

LPP - any chance of articling in Durham Region?

Hello,

I am currently looking for articling work in the Durham Region with no luck. I am cold emailing and looking at small firms or sole practitioners who deal with real estate, family, wills and possibly commercial. I am pretty flexible but mainly want to end up working at a general practice firm to get experience with the different areas of law. 

I am an international graduate so I am aware that I may have to do the LPP in order to get some Canadian legal experience. 

Does anyone know if there is any opportunity through the LPP to complete the 4 months articling at small firms in the GTA or if you are pretty much guaranteed to have to work in Toronto? 

I may have to do the LPP for lack of articling opportunities but I want to work in small firms in the Durham Region, not in the city. 

Also if anyone has any tips for cold emailing small firms that would be much appreciated. Its getting harder to keep writing cover letters and sending emails with no responses.  

On 2/23/2021 at 4:37 PM, EndofTIme said:

Hello,

I am currently looking for articling work in the Durham Region with no luck. I am cold emailing and looking at small firms or sole practitioners who deal with real estate, family, wills and possibly commercial. I am pretty flexible but mainly want to end up working at a general practice firm to get experience with the different areas of law. 

I am an international graduate so I am aware that I may have to do the LPP in order to get some Canadian legal experience. 

Does anyone know if there is any opportunity through the LPP to complete the 4 months articling at small firms in the GTA or if you are pretty much guaranteed to have to work in Toronto? 

I may have to do the LPP for lack of articling opportunities but I want to work in small firms in the Durham Region, not in the city.