PlayALawyerOnTV

Show Me Your Battlestation (aka Law School Supplies)

Hi all,

I'm an incoming 1L this year. I'm also a mature student and it's been a long, long time since I was last in school. With that in mind I wanted to pick the brains of current students as to what pieces of gear and technology they find indispensable to law school. Obviously Zoom school is different, and given that I've spent the past 12 months working remotely I feel I'm well situated for that, it's everything that you regularly use for in person classes that I'm more curious about. 

So what are everyone's indispensable items? 

• Laptop: I'm assuming that this is a given. Thankfully I recently upgraded my work laptop to a brand new Macbook Pro, so I should be good to go. 
  • Productivity software: Microsoft Office Suite, OneNote / Notion (note taking software), some sort of calendar, etc... anything else? 
  • Backpack / Messenger Bag: I've needed to get a new messenger bag for a while, so this was already on the list, and I'm assuming a good one would be indispensable for in person classes.

I've spoken to some law students / lawyers who swear by using an iPad or tablet for reading and annotating cases (via the Westlaw App, PDF or otherwise). Is this common? Not having to lug around casebooks and reading everything digitally does have some appeal for an old fogey like me. 

I've also heard that a lot of folks swear by having some sort of second screen for their home office as well, either an external monitor or a iPad via something like Duet. Yes / no? 

Then there is, of course, all of the analog items: pens, highlighters, binders, bookstands, etc. Anything outside of the norm here that people swear by? 

Obviously, a lot of this is going to come down to personal preference and workflow, but curious to hear some tips and tricks from those that have that lived it.