maybemaybe

Am I being too naive about my possible career in law?

Hi all. I'm a female undergrad interested in law, specifically working with the provincial or municipal government as a legal counsel or solicitor. I am not interested in litigation or criminal law. In addition to the interesting work, the work life balance also interests me in government law. The pay seems comfortable for a regular 40 hour work week with the occasional hectic weeks thrown in. On top of that there are benefits, paid maternity leave, health and dental, and a pension. However, I am hesitant to commit to law school because I am wondering if I am being naive as to where I may end up.

First of all, am I too optimistic about the work load I will have? I asked a question on this forum yesterday and it seemed like people working in law in the government worked around 35-45 hours a week and occasionally more. Secondly, my sister advised against law school for me because she said my plan was too specific. Like what if I don't end up securing a government job as a student or article and end up somewhere that I don't want to be. Lastly I looked at different government roles within the BC government and assume there are similar roles where I live (Alberta). It seems like a legal background would help you progress to many of the roles. However, I am worried that I may end up locking myself into government and if I ever need to move anywhere, it would be hard to transfer my skills. I'd rather not have to move from where I currently live due to some family related reasons but you never know.

I don't really have a desire to make boatloads of money, just about around 120k in around 6 years. I just want a comfortable job where the work is interesting but at the end of the day, I can enjoy my free time. Do you think I am being too naïve? 

Edited by maybemaybe

20 minutes ago, maybemaybe said: