maybemaybe

Government and in-house lawyers lifestyle

Hi all! I'm currently an undergraduate student considering law school. At first I was scared about the long brutal hours that a lot of lawyers put in but now I've realized that a lot of jobs are like that when one is first starting out (medicine, business consulting, engineering). I am fine with working longer weeks (50-60) in the first 2-4 years on my career but most likely not longer than that. I do value my personal time. I can't imagine putting in a ton of hours my whole life, coming home at 10pm, and giving up my weekends. I want to ultimately end up in a position that gives me a good work life balance and a decent income (eventually mid 100k). The two law fields that provide good work life balance are government and in house law. I asked on reddit about life style for government lawyers and inhouse lawyers and got mixed responses. Some said they regularly put in 60 hours a week while others talked about a normal 40 hour week more of the time. One person said they worked on average 35 hours working in house and making a nice income. I found an income chart of BC legal counsels and they averaged a 35 hour work week based on their hourly rate. If I went into government, I'd most likely work with the provincial government (Alberta) or my municipal government (Edmonton). I am also interested in house but from my understanding, one has to work some years at a big firm until they reach that point.

For those of you who are working in government (federal, provincial, municipal) or in house, whether as a lawyer or not, what is your  work life balance like?