kloserzchen

Is recommendation letter from host family acceptable?

Hi all, this might be an uncommon question. I am an international student, when I first come to Canada, i was a minor, so host family was required, and even now I don't need host family anymore, me and my host family have been staying pretty close. I thought it was a good idea to put them as my reference because they are the people who know me the best here and able to comment on my strength. Furthermore, in my personal statment i emphasized on my ability to establish strong connections with people around me, so i felt their recommendation would confirms this part of my personal statement. 

But now i am having second thoughts about this, i felt it might not be perfessional enough.

What do you guys think? 

Thanks for any input

Contact the schools directly. This is a pretty unique scenario. 

• Thanks 1

I do not know which schools you plan to apply to, so my ability to provide a fulsome answer is limited (Canadian law schools have varying letter of recommendation requirements), though as a general principle, at least one is typically required to be from an academic reference (e.g a professor in a course you did well in, or one who supervised you while working as a RA). 

As Hegdis mentioned above, reaching out to the schools you are interested in directly on this matter should be your next move. I suspect though that if any schools are receptive to this idea, they will encourage you to submit it as a supplimentary letter, alongside one from an academic reference.

Edited by LabouriousCorvid
  • Thanks 1

8 minutes ago, LabouriousCorvid said: