Hi,

I'm an incoming student for the Fall 2021 intake. I'm hoping to identify some of the essential reading material for the current 1L classes such as for Torts, Contracts, etc. 

I'm aware of the list put up by the Assistant Dead  as resource materials for first year courses. But that list seems to be one to broaden your horizon rather than the essential and the core reading materials. I'd appreciate it very much if current students or others who might know about this could share some titles as well as other resources you think can be useful. 

Thanks very much. 

Edited by ShadyLaze
  • Like 1

There really is no need to try and get ahead or anything when it comes to the readings. Don't worry about it until you get the official book list from the school, and don't bother reading until you know what your specific professors are assigning out of each book (the profs can take widely different approaches across sections). You are better off relaxing, working, doing things you enjoy etc., because the opportunity to do these things diminishes significantly once you start law school (and reading a bunch of cases ahead of time and out of context likely won't change that).

• Like 1

Please don't try to teach yourself the law when in literally a few months time you will be paying highly qualified instructors at a reputable educational institution a significant sum of money to teach law to you in a structured way. At best, you will read the wrong/irrelevant cases, at worst, you will actively confuse yourself. 

Edited by LabouriousCorvid
  • Like 2

You'll look back at this post in late October and laugh at yourself for ever having thought this. Enjoy the free time you have right now. 

• Like 3

I appreciate all the advice. I do hope that I'll receive some answers to my questions nonetheless.