EddieB

Mature student going to Bond come back practice solo?

Hello everyone!

I recently got my JD offer from Bond but not sure whether I should go.

I had my undergrad from U of T with C+ CGPA 10 years ago and no LSAT score. I understand I have zero chance for any Canadian law school so I applied Bond.

My goal is to get my JD and come back Ontario to open a private practice doing some real estate transactions or immigration stuff. I don’t have any intention to work in a big law firm because it is just not my life style. I’m a mature student with family and kids, I’m not hungry for money, all I want is to have a JD or lawyer title and have a good balance between work and life.

Is going to Bond a realistic option for my circumstance? Will the degree lead me to where I want? I’m not strong in academic will I survive Bond, NCA exam, and Bar exam?

Any thoughts will be appreciated!

48 minutes ago, EddieB said:

I’m not strong in academic will I survive Bond, NCA exam, and Bar exam?

I'll refrain from commenting on the rest of this as others here are better placed to do so, but I just wanted to address this. Wondering whether you have the horsepower to get called in the first place is really the wrong concern to have about starting a career in law. This is a career that will constantly involve reading, keeping on top of developments, interpreting information, critical analysis, compliance with Law Society rules, etc. Getting called is the bare minimum and is a low bar (no pun intended). Legal work isn't rocket science but it would be a very unpleasant career for someone who isn't up to the task intellectually, just as it would be terribly unpleasant to be a physically weak mover.

I don't know you and I'm not saying you're stupid. But I am saying that if you are concerned about whether you are capable of the bare minimum level of performance required to be called, hanging your own shingle afterwards should be a far more daunting prospect for you.