Scourage

Thoughts on Law School Overall?

Getting into law school is a big goal of mine, but I wanna know how the overall experience was for those who have graduated. Do you regret it, and if you could change something about it, what would it be? Any responses are greatly appreciated!

I have been a lawyer for somewhere approaching 15 years. I do not regret it. 

• Like 8

Are you asking about law school or the practice of law? Because while I'd hope that you'd enjoy law school, the bigger matter is whether you'll enjoy being a lawyer. And if you enjoy the latter it's tricky to regret the former. 

Edited by LawBlaw2019
  • Like 1

7 minutes ago, LawBlaw2019 said:

Are you asking about law school or the practice of law? Because while I'd hope that you'd enjoy law school, the bigger matter is whether you'll enjoy being a lawyer. And if you enjoy the latter it's tricky to regret the former. 

I initially was asking both, on the topic of law school and the practice of law. I realized it wasn't clear enough, my mistake!

I loved law school and am happy with my 8+ years of practice.

• Like 2

I really loved law school but didn't manage well in practice. Happy in policy.

• Like 1

Take care of your mental health and overall health before attending law school. I learned this after law school working in one of the most depressing areas of law. Nonetheless, I found the practice more rewarding than law school.

Difficult work and stress are perpetual in this profession, but your health is worth more than any tuition or salary/bonus.

• Like 3

The three year stretch of law school is the best or second-best period of my life so far. 

• Like 2

Clerking now and I unquestionably prefer work over law school. Law school's great if you love cram, exam, and purge learning. The practical-skills courses made the experience tolerable (i.e., major paper, moot, trial practice). 

• Like 2

21 minutes ago, mistertubby said:

overrated