idekanymore

Should I even consider law school? (3.16, 3.63)

Hi everyone,

I'm a long time lurker, but this my first post! 

So I am a 4th year student in their last semester and I worry if I am even good enough for law school in Canada. I messed up my first year, so my cGPA is currently 3.16, my L2/B2 is 3.63 and B3 is 3.51 according to the OLSAS GPA calculator (https://lsutil.azurewebsites.net/CGPA/Index). I go to a percent based school so cGPA in that format is 76.1 but with a 12 credit drop, it is 81%. I am aiming for only As and A+s this term so hoping my GPA maintains the same or improves by at least a little. 

As for the LSAT, I will be writing it this Summer and am aiming for 165 or more. While I am finishing up my undergrad, I am also doing a legal administrative program to hopefully get a job as soon as I graduate in May as an LAA at a firm. I worked all throughout undergrad as a floor manager at a small retail store (until I got laid off last March) and currently have a position as a teaching assistant. Aside from that I have been a member of the students association of the program I am in for the last two years. 

Based off this info, do you guys think I should even apply for law school? Are there any schools that you recommend that would only look at L2/B2? My transcript shows an upwards trend but I still fear it is not good enough. I will be applying this fall, and will be working as an LAA like I said, and hoping to do more volunteer work then too (currently restricted in doing this because COVID-19)

Looking forward to you replies, thank you! 

It's going to entirely depend on your LSAT. 

I had a slighty higher GPA to you, similar upward trend and a 166 on my last. I got an offer from most of the schools I applied to, and waitlisted at the rest.

So yea, write the LSAT, shoot your shot. Your odds of getting in if you apply are infinitely higher than if you don't.