Scourage

Social Life in Law School

I'm currently studying for the LSAT and I am curious to know how is the social environment, social groups/dynamic preferably at Queens/Western/Osgoode/Ottawa. Any response is appreciated regardless of school, I just wanted to gain insight for future reference. Thanks! 

Ignore social groups until 2L 😂. Western was good in terms of integrating people into small groups and having events (orientation week and bi-weekly bar nights) to attempt to foster something of a "celebratory" culture. I would assume a more pleasant place than an Osgoode or Ottawa, but the prevailing mood is still what you would expect from a law school.

• Like 1

TRU was interesting since 99% of the students aren't from Kamloops. As a result, you get to know your classmates pretty well. There were distinct friend groups but there were regular house parties where everyone/anyone was invited. There's an "unofficial" school trip to Sun Peaks every January and 75% of the students go to ski/snowboard and party. 

Being a relatively small school (~110 students per year, ~330 total) it can feel like high school. The law building is the top 2 floors of the student union building and law students have 24/7 access. When you spend 3 years on the same 2 floors as your classmates you tend to get comfortable with each other.

However, if you don't really want to "get comfortable" and lean more towards getting in, doing your work, and getting out, you can accomplish that as well. Some of my classmates had families and preferred to just go to class and go home with little to no socializing, and that was just fine too.

My closest circle of friends and I would study at different cafes every weekend and play D&D on a semi-regular basis.

Some social traditions at TRU:

O-Week, Softball tournament, 1Ls vs. Upper Years hockey game, golf tournament, Sun Peaks trip, concert fundraiser at the Blue Grotto, curling tournament, intramural sports, ping pong tournament

• Like 3