DABMAN

Investing PSLOC short term vs long term

Hi everyone,

Sorry if this question has been asked already, from some of the posts Ive read I havent seen it specifically answered. Im still a 0L but I found the topic of investing the psloc very interesting.

So assuming you can use the entirety of the psloc (For maximum investing potential?? I personally will definitely need most of it) my question is what are the pros and cons to maxing it out per year (from what i understand you are allowed to take out only a certain amount per year) and investing it all beginning right from 1L vs waiting until 3L to take it all out and investing it (besides the obvious greater risk you take on investing it early)?

I would love to hear any personal experiences and what you invested into (i was personally just planning to put it in the new tangerine etf portfolios, im a noob at investing)

Thanks everyone and happy new year!

Before you do anything I would strongly recommend you go over the fine print of your PSLOC agreement with your financial institution to ensure that there aren't any terms that prohibit you from withdrawing funds for investment purposes or purposes other than paying for tuition and fees. There are multiple threads on r/PersonalFinanceCanada about using student lines of credit to invest, where I saw someone say that they know of a person whose line of credit access was revoked when the bank found out they've been using the money to invest. Obviously I don't know if that's a true story or not, but I don't think it's totally outside the realm of possibility for a borrower to have their access to credit revoked if the lender found out (through whatever means) that they had used borrowed funds in ways that breach the agreement. In any case, I think r/PersonalFinanceCanada is probably a much better place to browse and dig for info and advice on this subject matter than ls.ca

• Like 1