FirstGear

Online learning to be offered in future?

Since COVID-19, law schools have moved their education online. Are any law schools going to keep this distance learning system? I am from Edmonton, Alberta, and limited geographically; I own property here and have a tenant, spouse, and animals to take care of. Thus, if online learning is not maintained: I'm limited to U of A and their unique policy of averaging LSAT scores, instead of only considering the best one.

Edited by FirstGear

I would be in favour of that! But judging from how online classes are going from the students side, not likely at all. 

Though maybe the profs are liking it. 

• Like 1

3 minutes ago, legallybrunette3 said:

Though maybe the profs are liking it. 

I am a current law student and in my experience the profs more or less universally dislike it. Probably more consistently and to a greater extent than students.

I would be highly surprised if the online format was retained beyond the point at which it is no longer a necessity due to COVID.

• Like 1

18 minutes ago, CleanHands said:

I am a current law student and in my experience the profs more or less universally dislike it. Probably more consistently and to a greater extent than students.

I would be highly surprised if the online format was retained beyond the point at which it is no longer a necessity due to COVID.

This is my experience as well. Still, I don't think online format course delivery and assessment methods will disappear entirely once it is safe to hold classes in person again. Short intensive courses (i.e 1 week 1L intro to lawyering ethics courses) or supplimentary/remedial courses in particular I can imagine being continually offered in a digital format (atleast as an alternative to in person attendance) for convenience and accessibility purposes. 

• Like 1