hockeydad

Question regarding “last two years” calculation

On Western’s website it states that: 

“We define your last 2 years of university as your last 20 semestered courses for which you were assigned grades... However, courses for which you received a Pass or Credit are not included, and we will not break up semesters. This means that if you did not take 5 courses per semester in your last 4 semesters of university, your “Last 2” may include academic terms that precede your third year of study (depending on your timeline and whether you were full- or part-time)...”

Currently I am in my fourth year and have applied to Western. In my second year I took 5 courses in the fall, 4 in the winter, and 1 in the summer. Additionally, I did the same thing in my third year. In these two years, in the semesters that I took 4 courses, I achieved all A’s and A+‘s; however, given the information that I have included above, I am now worried that these grades won’t be counted in my “last two years.” 

Is this the case?

Edited by hockeydad

They take your last 20 semestered courses regardless... so the amount of courses you took during each term doesnt matter for Western, I had a similar concern. 

You should be fine

11 minutes ago, lawnerd2 said:

They take your last 20 semestered courses regardless... so the amount of courses you took during each term doesnt matter for Western, I had a similar concern. 

You should be fine

Awesome, one more stupid question for you. When they say “your last 20 semestered courses” how do they arrive at what the last 20 are ...? I know this sounds incredibly dumb but humour me for a second.

I understand that a course that I took in the winter semester of my third year is more ‘recent’ than a course that took in the fall semester of my first year, but how does Western decide what courses are ‘more recent’ or ‘later’ than others within the same semester?