GreysAnatomy

Is this normal?

Hi guys,

I'm in my first year of practice and work for a partner in litigation. I find the job quite stressful- everyday, I am getting assignments done, sending it to the Partner with no response, and then she calls me back like hours later without warning asking to revise the assignment. I understand she's busy, but she doesnt set up times to review stuff, and just bombards me at her will. Also, sometimes I will send her an email, she wont read it thoroughly, and gets mad that I didnt resolve something when I drew it to her attention in that email. 

I'm just wondering if this is normal? Is this how you guys work from home? I find it really difficult and it drives my anxiety up knowing that any minute I can expect a call about a document, but I don't know when that call will come. How are things at other firms? Is this just the nature of the practice? Any insight would be appreciated! 

Edited by GreysAnatomy

Totally varies depending on the style and personality of the person you’re working under, obviously. 

But being beholden to a senior lawyer’s schedule/ whims when you’re very junior is very common. Why don’t you take the initiative to arrange a time to review? 

• Like 3

1 hour ago, GreysAnatomy said:

Also, sometimes I will send her an email, she wont read it thoroughly, and gets mad that I didnt resolve something when I drew it to her attention in that email.

Regarding the senior lawyer's inattention to your emails, that is her problem, not yours. And it is hard to tell if it rises to the level of a toxic environment or whether her responses are in the realm of reason. I'd need more specifics.