Thrive92

How to not get into 100k + debt pursuing a law degree? (serious question)

Hello everyone.

I'm a prospective law student who have thought about how to finance my education over and over again, and I am wondering how one can stay below 100k debt pursuing a law degree?

I read a recent post in this topic where someone was inching past this figure, and I thought to myself "Isn't that number average for law students?" As I read the comments in the post, I realized that many people have significantly less debt than 100k. Unless you receive help from your family members or you have saved up before pursuing a law degree, I am curious as to how you can go below this figure?

I have a little over 50k in student debt right now pursuing my undergraduate degree. I understand that this is more than many undergraduate students who have received student loans (around 35-40k).

The law schools I would like to be accepted into would require about 14k per academic year including ancillary fees and textbooks (so about 42k for 3 years). That with 30k for rent and living expenses for those 3 years would leave me with more than 120k of debt (or about 110k for the average student who took out student loans during undergrad).

The 30k of living expenses for 3 years of my law studies is projected with me being very frugal with my money (no car, cheap rent with roommates, no eating out). If someone can help me understand how you could shave off that debt below 100k during your academic career, I would be very interested.

Thank you for reading.

Edited by Thrive92

I don't have a lot of good advice here--by the time I went to law school I had done enough living in squalor with shitty roommates and eating ramen and was inclined to say "fuck it" and take on a bit more debt to finally enjoy my life a little, and for whatever reasons my law school never hooked me up with bursaries, scholarships, etc.