rebeccamtl

Another “should I retake” post. (2.9, 3.2, 168)

I’m about to sign up for January.

I was PTing 168-174 and got a 168 (95th percentile) in October, after getting the infamous shredder game. Took November expecting an increase but due to some major distractions during the exam, I got a 164 (89th percentile). Crushing, obviously.

I’m pretty damn confident I can get above 170 in January, and I’m okay with studying again for the test.

I’m a mature student, applied Mature and Access/Discretionary across Ontario, plus to McGill and UBC. My GPA (from 2011) sucks. Degree GPA is 3.09, cGPA sub 3.0 (2.8-2.9?) because of a bad freshman year in the USA. L2 is probably around 3.2. B20 for Ryerson is 3.6. Obviously counting on my work/life experience, and LSAT score.

Question is, at this point, is it worth 1) paying the money, 2) delaying my application’s review, to retake January if I could probably score 170+?

Would it make a huge difference? I really want to get into Ottawa. And everywhere else 😂

I spend too much time on the LSAT Reddit and it’s like I don’t even feel like my 168 means anything anymore lol.  

55 minutes ago, rebeccamtl said:I spend too much time on the LSAT Reddit and it’s like I don’t even feel like my 168 means anything anymore lol.  

Those guys are largely American, they need a 170+ to go anywhere worthwhile. 168 is not excellent score, above the average at every school in Canada (except it might be the average for uoft). 

Edited by PlatoandSocrates
  • Like 4

12 minutes ago, PlatoandSocrates said:

Those guys are largely American, they need a 170+ to go anywhere worthwhile. 168 is not excellent score, above the average at every school in Canada (except it might be the average for uoft). 

Thanks, yeah I would be happy with it if my GPA were normal I guess. I’m just trying as hard as I can to prove to adcoms that I am academically capable. 

1 hour ago, Luckycharm said:

Don't bother...