lawlizard

Questions about Co-op Program

Hi there,

I'm considering applying to UVic and their co-op program is a huge bonus for me. Is there anyone on this site that could speak to their experience? Is it worth it? What types of positions? Pros? Cons?

Thanks in advance.

Just now, Mihael said:

What in particular do you find interesting about their co-op program?

I read on a post from a few years back that UVic has access to exclusive postings and potentially some internationally. This would bring competition down by a fair bit when it comes to applying. Also they’re paid, unlike some internships. I pay for my own school (as do many) so it would help. 
I’m a noob when it comes down to all this so I realize I may sound a bit lost lol. 

It is true that the co-op program can give you access to some different types of work experiences. This is the main advantage of the program and it does seem pretty cool. Given that some positions are exclusively offered through the program, it's a great opportunity to get those unique experiences.

But an important thing to keep in mind is that, precisely because the unique co-op jobs are, well, unique, they're unlikely to give you an edge when it comes to eventual recruiting for permanent work. In other words, since none of the traditional/OCI big employers participate in the co-op, your co-op experience in some unique small firm or government office will not likely be much help in landing articling positions with those employers. So the value of the program may depend somewhat on where you want to go "in the end".

Take all of the above with a grain of salt, however. I am technically in the co-op program (along with at least 2/3 of the 1L JD class), but I haven't actually done a work term yet. ;)

-GM

• Thanks 1

7 hours ago, GrumpyMountie said: