Hopefullawstudent11

Is becoming a lawyer worth it?

Hey guys,

I am a fourth year who has finished applying to law school, done their LSAT and now just waiting for the law schools to make their decisions. I have only applied to Ontario law schools. Recently I have been doing more research on what lawyers think of the profession and honestly most opinions that I am reading paint a very dark picture with long hours, and little pay. I would like it if some of you could share your thoughts/opinions/personal experiences. I have an undergrad degree which I can get a job with right out of undergrad so I was just wondering. I have always wanted to be a lawyer and was attracted to the field partly due to the high income earning potentials. I understand that for the first 4-6 years that may not be a possibility as I will still be learning but I definitely want to be making 100k-200k in my career. Please don't tell me to not go into law thinking only about money; I am not, but in this world you have to be realistic. No one is gonna go under debt and extra schooling for the pure passion of it. Yes I have passion and a desire to be a lawyer, but I definitely do want to be making money as no one is putting me through school and I will be exclusively depending on loans. 

I would really appreciate your honest advice thanks! Please be gentle LOOL

• Like 2
  • Haha 2

For someone who says they're not only thinking about money you sure seem to be thinking a lot about money. 

In all seriousness though this is a really hard question for anyone to answer for you. Everyone's going to have a different idea of what constitutes good money, what long work hours look like, what sort of working conditions you're willing to put up with, etc. 

Edited by PlayALawyerOnTV

So my answer comes from my perspective as an articled student, not a lawyer. There are others in this forum that will have more experience and be able to provide a better answer, but here goes.