Lsh92

Resume question

Hi Guys 

i just got a job offer as a legal assistant  from a mid sized law firm. I am applying for Ryerson and Windsor and the application is due November 1. Now I am wondering since this job starts mid November, I want to include it to my resume for these law schools. Should I be doing it? Can I mention this in my resume with the start date on it? 

Don't bother. You shouldn't list experience you don't actually have yet, and this will make zero difference to your applications in any case.

I think it's pretty presumptive to put jobs or accomplishments on resumes that haven't actually happened yet. I think it comes off as cocky and stupid when I see people do this. The offer could be rescinded; you could get sick and not be able to take the job. Focus your resume on your actual work experience and accomplishments. 

woah that sounds so cool. I was reading your story from before (the post named help) and I am so proud. I am a first yer undergrad student(in bc) just exploring into law and I wanted to know how you got into the position(sorry if this sounds creepy). Am I qualified for a job like this? I was wondering because I want to see if law is a right career for me and maybe being a legal assistant will help me have some experience and see if I love or hate the job

18 minutes ago, canada18 said:

woah that sounds so cool. I was reading your story from before (the post named help) and I am so proud. I am a first yer undergrad student(in bc) just exploring into law and I wanted to know how you got into the position(sorry if this sounds creepy). Am I qualified for a job like this? I was wondering because I want to see if law is a right career for me and maybe being a legal assistant will help me have some experience and see if I love or hate the job

Thank you.