Boptation243

5th Year of Undergrad?

Hi all,

I am currently in my third year of my undergrad at UofT. I've recently decided that I wanted to go law school and I am committed to doing so. If I finish with a 3.7 in my third and fourth year, this will bring my CGPA to a 3.27. Obviously, this is extremely low for law schools such as UofT and Osgoode (which is where I would prefer to go). I'm debating whether I should take a fifth year to try and bring my CGPA up. Has anyone been in a similar situation? If so, how was your experience and would you recommend me doing this? For L2/ B2 schools a 3.7 GPA would be fine based on my own research. Is it worth it for me to take a fifth year, or should I try my luck with L2/ B2 schools?

Write the LSAT or at least do enough practice tests to get a sense of where you sit there, before investing in additional undergraduate coursework. Without knowing your LSAT score, an increase to GPA could be either unnecessary or futile.

• Like 2

3 minutes ago, Boptation243 said:

Hi all,

I am currently in my third year of my undergrad at UofT. I've recently decided that I wanted to go law school and I am committed to doing so. If I finish with a 3.7 in my third and fourth year, this will bring my CGPA to a 3.27. Obviously, this is extremely low for law schools such as UofT and Osgoode (which is where I would prefer to go). I'm debating whether I should take a fifth year to try and bring my CGPA up. Has anyone been in a similar situation? If so, how was your experience and would you recommend me doing this? For L2/ B2 schools a 3.7 GPA would be fine based on my own research. Is it worth it for me to take a fifth year, or should I try my luck with L2/ B2 schools?

write the LSAT first

Doing another year to boost your GPA is no big deal. Gotta do what you gotta do. I did another year not in any specific program, and just took upper year classes I was interested in.

Edited by AJD19

14 minutes ago, CleanHands said: