JanLevinsonGould

OCIs and a current accepted offer

This summer I worked as a 1L student at a local firm. It was okay, but there were things about the firm culture that I didn't like. It is a firm of about 12 lawyers, but there is no sense of community that you would normally have with a smaller firm. The clerks are SO rude, and frankly I am pretty sure a couple are racist. The pay is also lower than comparable firms. 

This firm offered me a 2L position for next summer back in August. I accepted, party because of pressure from HR and the managing partner, and partly because I was happy to at least have something. The thing is, I still think that I want to do OCIs. I would like the experience of applying and interviewing. But I know that if I get an offer I will likely accept it, especially if the pay is better. Is it shady of me to accept the firm's offer and  (potentially) later reject it? what would you do in my position?

I would go through with OCIs and take an offer if you get one. If you get a job offer from OCIs you'd still be able to give your previous firm a few months' notice, it's not like you're leaving them high and dry.

Did you sign anything committing to your 1L firm for next summer? Are they contributing to your tuition/textbook costs in any way? If the answer is no, then there's not reallllly any obligation to stay.

The other consideration is how well known/well liked the firm is, and whether burning that bridge would come back to bite you somehow.

Edited by canuckfanatic

6 minutes ago, canuckfanatic said:

Did you sign anything committing to your 1L firm for next summer? Are they contributing to your tuition/textbook costs in any way? If the answer is no, then there's not reallllly any obligation to stay.

I did sign the offer of employment. They are not contributing to my studies in any way. 

7 minutes ago, pzabbythesecond said:

Even ignoring potential legal ramifications, that will tank your reputation.