2021lawschool

JD/MBA vs JD/MA Economics

I am considering both programs mentioned in the title, and my goal is Bay Street.

JD/MBA obviously offers better opportunities for big law, but the main drawback is the cost.

JD/MA in Economics would most likely be free at my current university where I am in my fourth year studying economics. I already have a master's thesis proposal from one of my undergraduate classes, and my area of focus is industrial economics (competition, mergers, acquisitions, etc.).

Any advice on the better option is appreciated!

I think either will serve you well. 

All other things being equal, I'd do the JD/MBA because it's a more well trodden path to big law and you're more likely to learn directly applicable concepts.

However, taking into account that the MA would be free, and that you are already somewhat on the path, I would do the JD/MA. 

Another thing to consider: until very recently (IMHO), all law degrees were viewed as equal. (Now, it seems to me that law schools are separating into the "new schools", like Ryerson, TRU, etc. and the "old schools - we will see if that is a meaningful distinction or not but it seems to me that distinction is forming.) I don't think that is true of MBAs or an MA in Econ; some schools are probably "better" than others. 

im assuming you have little to no full time work experience seeing as youre still in undergrad. in that case, you also need to ask yourself whether you will be making the most of an MBA at this stage in your life. ive heard from people on this sub and elsewhere that you’re best able to extract the full value of an MBA when you’ve got work experience under your belt. 

Economics because it's way more interesting, and in my mind useful as education than an MBA.

But if you only want it as a route to big law, then the MBA makes more sense. But that's a hefty debt bill to increase your odds at a six figure job starting in the low 100s.