HannaGrace

How do I take notes in law classes?

Hello,

I am in my first year of law, Licence 1 ( L1) and I find myself in front of a new way of working, in a big lecture hall, in front of a professor who speaks without dictating most of the time... I find note-taking very difficult because of the new legal vocabulary which is really hard to understand. So I would like to have some tips and tricks on how to take notes in law class?

Thank you very much.

First year I took all my notes from hand and basically wrote down everything. That was not an efficient approach. In 2L/3L, I took my notes on my laptop over existing CANs I got from upper years. I found that very efficient because you generally knew where the lecture was going already. 

• Like 2

There's a learning curve that (presumably) every 1L goes through. It may not be the best advice, but because I'm not sure what is I'll just say this: many of my classmates and I did the same thing as conge (although on a computer), and wrote down every word we heard. Later in the semester when we started condensing our notes and preparing for exams we all laughed at how brutal our September notes were. While definitely follow better advice if someone else gives it, I don't think there's anything wrong with taking down extra information that you can delete later when you learn what's actually important. Maybe try looking up case briefs for each case you are assigned if you don't have access to upper year's summaries. I think a good starting point is noticing the organization of them as well as the information deemed relevant. Typically you want to focus on: the facts, the issues, the holding (the decision by the court), and the reasons for the decision. Try not to panic, these skills will come with time. It's not expected that you will understand how to take effective notes from day one. 

• Like 1