Legalhope

Opinion - Bond University remote

Longtime lurker. I know how not great an option Bond is. 

My undergraduate grades are 7-10 years old. My cGPA was not stellar but I went to U of T. My grades show a substantial upward swing in year 3 and 4. I have 80s and 90s in 4th year. I have a fail and a DNC in first year which is killing the cGPA. When I remove those, my cGPA jumps from 2.48 to 3.3+  I screwed up first year and it continues to haunt me.

My LSAT hovers around 150 and has for years. I have written it 4 times. I have done self-study, I did the Oxford course and the free repeat session, and I hired a private tutor. My score truly does not move more than 5 points in either direction. 

I'm a mature student. I'm married. I own a home. I have 10+ years work experience as a law clerk. I have 10+ years of volunteer experience with disabled children. 

I have applied to Canadian schools since 2017. 5+ rejections, 1 waitlist (Ottawa, this year). Yes I geared towards holistic schools because my cGPA is my biggest concern. 

Bond has been my plan B since I started applying (well, plan D really). I consider it the "cleanest dirty shirt" when it comes to overseas schools because of the Canadian content they offer. 

Due to COVID, Bond has moved to remote for the next semester or two. They are also offering a reduction on tuition by 10%. 

If I can do remote, I can continue to work my current job and live at home with my husband. I'd save the cost of living for now. As is, I would have to go to Australia in May 2021 - unless NCA makes further changes to their in-class requirements. 

Would you pull the trigger and make the leap at this point? Or would you continue to wait, hope, and reapply again next year. 

Edited by Legalhope
More details
  • Like 1