baroquekid

Science background and applying to law school

Hi all,

I'm currently doing a thesis based Master of Science program but my ultimate goal is to apply to law school. My main area of passion is health and science policy -- and I am curious whether a potential pursuit/obtainment of a PhD in a scientific field would either hurt or improve my chances of getting into law school in Canada. I know most school welcome diverse student backgrounds, but I wonder if anybody has had a similar experience or has any insight on this matter.

Thanks in advance!

Intuitively I can’t picture it hurting, but it might not help enough to be worth it. Most Canadian schools heavily emphasize undergrad gpa and LSAT, with everything else being a secondary consideration, if it’s a consideration at all. If you’re dedicated to doing the degree for its own sake, I would imagine it’s sensible to go for it. If you were looking to boost your admissions chances I think tons of LSAT prep would be much easier, faster, and more effective. If you want an anecdote to quell your worries a bit, there’s at least one person with a science PHD in my incoming 1L class this year, so it seemingly didn’t hold them back! Best of luck. 

Edited by PlatoandSocrates
  • Like 3

41 minutes ago, baroquekid said:

Hi all,

I'm currently doing a thesis based Master of Science program but my ultimate goal is to apply to law school. My main area of passion is health and science policy -- and I am curious whether a potential pursuit/obtainment of a PhD in a scientific field would either hurt or improve my chances of getting into law school in Canada. I know most school welcome diverse student backgrounds, but I wonder if anybody has had a similar experience or has any insight on this matter.

Thanks in advance!