Sign in to follow this  
parkersophie

Should I retake the LSATs? (cGPA 2.84, L2~3.2, LSAT 167)

I'm a chemical engineering student class of 2020, with the possibility of applying access (I have major depressive disorder and treatment resistant depression and have been depressed for the past 6 years. It heavily effect my grades and my last year was really good and an upward trend can be seen) and I will be working for this year as an engineer. I was a varsity athlete in university and was also involved heavily with extracurriculars and had leadership roles in clubs and good summer jobs (summer student for a defence lawyer, volunteer at SickKids in their legal department, research co-op at BC cancer research centre). 

My stats are 2.84 cGPA, 3.2ish L2, LSAT 167. My practice tests were consistently coming in just under 170 or above it. I know I can probably score better, but will it make a huge difference? Should I register to write the LSAT again or apply with my current stats? I'm not picky in terms of which law school I go to - I'm worried I won't get in anywhere. 

• Like 1

If you ask me, a 170+ LSAT would make a difference in your application. For your reference, I have an engineering background with similar stats but a higher LSAT, and was accepted to a number of Canadian schools. I scored a 167 on my first go as well, but I'm glad I rewrote as I ended up with a 173. I do think it made a difference in my application.