MBows94

Chances with low GPA (2.75) and L60 (3.06)

Just curious as to what my chances would be with this poor of a GPA? I have 2 years of international work experience and a fair bit of volunteer experience if that helps my cause. Obviously my goal on the LSAT would have to be a minimum 160 but I'm open to basically anywhere in Canada. 

6 minutes ago, MBows94 said:

Just curious as to what my chances would be with this poor of a GPA? I have 2 years of international work experience and a fair bit of volunteer experience if that helps my cause. Obviously my goal on the LSAT would have to be a minimum 160 but I'm open to basically anywhere in Canada. 

Get you L2 GPA to 3.5+ / 4.0 and LSAT 160+ then you will have a shot to some law schools.

There are a plenty of people who have gone abroad to Australia, the UK, and the US with low GPA's then done well on return to Canada and have been successful in articling and setting up a practice.  In Canada, maybe law schools are a bit more selective and competitive. You can do an accelerated law degree in 2 years abroad, do the NCAs in a year, and article or LPP for a year after that.  GPA is not as much of an issue for foreign schools as is the ability to pay.  Also, Canada's legal market is really small compared to the USA and UK for example, so you do not lose much by going abroad.   

• Haha 2

4 hours ago, TheGeneral said:

There are a plenty of people who have gone abroad to Australia, the UK, and the US with low GPA's then done well on return to Canada and have been successful in articling and setting up a practice.  In Canada, maybe law schools are a bit more selective and competitive. You can do an accelerated law degree in 2 years abroad, do the NCAs in a year, and article or LPP for a year after that.  GPA is not as much of an issue for foreign schools as is the ability to pay.  Also, Canada's legal market is really small compared to the USA and UK for example, so you do not lose much by going abroad.