TheGeneral

Need to be Rich to Practice Law?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time posting in this forum.  I have been interested in pursuing law for some time.  However, the costs seem insurmountable for a person of modest means.  In Canada, the cost of an undergraduate degree is approximately $50,000 for four years if you include living expenses, followed by an LSAT test of about $200, followed by an undergraduate 3-year JD which, at the cheapest law school, is about $30K tuition for three years with cheap living costs of about $25,000 a year.  That's just to get an undergraduate law degree of course.  So that is about $105,000.  Then, if you want to get a law licence, in a place like Ontario, you are looking at $160 application fee, $1500 for Barrister and Solicitor Exams, a $2800 Articling Fee,  and a $250 dollar Call to the Bar Fee.  If you rent robes to get called to the Bar, that's like $200 dollars for the occasion, so your bill is now over $110,000 for becoming a Lawyer.  

Ok, now lets say you've gotten to that point of being a Lawyer.  Let's say you live in Ottawa or Toronto as benchmark cities.  Before even practicing your going to need room and board.  So in Ottawa, according to a google search, the average rent is $1100 a month, while Toronto would likely be a bit more, let's say $1500.  Ok, you've got rent squared away, and now you just have to worry about utilities which lets say are about $300 monthly.  Food lets say $500 monthly.  This is all assuming you are a single person with no dependents.  So that is your budget for living.  

Now let's say you want to set up practice.  According to the LSO, your Lawyer Fee for practicing is over $2300.  Now your set to work right?  Not so fast, you need insurance in case you get sued.  That's approximately another $3000.  We have not added everything up in a while, so that brings the total to approximately, $117,600.