Schooliscool

Is Kamloops a city that requires a car?

I spent my four years of undergrad at a uni that had everything you'd need accessible by transit and Uber, so I saved my money and opt-ed out of a car. Now that I'm moving to a new city, I'm wondering if anyone would recommend against having a car in Kamloops? 

I would probably advise you to get a car. Kamloops is a fairly spread out city, and I understand from friends there that the transit generally kinda sucks (although I have no personal experience with it). Having a car might also open up some cheaper/nicer areas to rent, which would be a pain to get to via transit. 

Also, Kamloops is unlikely to have uber or lyft any time soon, so you'll be stuck with taxis if you can't transit somewhere. 

Caveat that this is all just from visiting Kamloops randomly over the years to see friends/ski. TRU students may have different advice.

• Thanks 1

I lived in Kamloops for a semester while I was taking a continuing education course. I didn't have a car while I was there and I was fine. I walked everywhere and took the bus. I also had a bike but I really didn't use it as much as I should have lol. I had no problem with the bus. I lived close to the campus so I would walk. I could also walk from campus to downtown easily, it was about a 30 minute walk. You definitely don't need a car and lots of people who I went to school with or met there didn't drive. I chose not to bring my car with me when I was there and the only time I regretted it was when I wanted to explore outside of Kamloops. There are some pretty great trails outside of the city that I wish I had more of a chance to explore. I did hike, but I went with people who had cars.