connorsimon

Is the Canadian Securities Course worth taking before 1L if I want to work on Bay St eventually?

Hello everyone, 

I am set to start at Queens Law in the fall, and I hope to work my way into corporate law. I recently had the opportunity to speak with a partner at a large Bay St firm and he mentioned that he took the CSC during law school. He didn't directly suggest it for me, but I'm wondering if it would be a good idea for me to take it before law school. I have, however, heard from some people that it's pointless if you don't plan to work in a job that directly requires it. I majored in history with a certificate in business (primarily econ), so part of me feels like I may be at a disadvantage when it comes to finance. 

Any suggestions? Is the CSC worth it? Are there other online certificate programs that could help me learn more about securities before starting in the fall?

Thanks! 

No. Absolutely not. Your primary goal is getting good grades and converting interviews. That's like buying a $2,000 suit today because it would be useful as a partner. 

• Like 2

10 minutes ago, grishamlaw said:

No. Absolutely not. Your primary goal is getting good grades and converting interviews. That's like buying a $2,000 suit today because it would be useful as a partner. 

Amazing analogy, I love it. 

Not needed at all. It'd probably be helpful in speaking the lingo of clients, but I'd bet the majority of corporate/securities lawyers on Bay Street don't have any business credentials or education. You learn everything law-related on the job.

nobody cares about csc save for the unfortunate people who wasted their time and money on this 'designation' 

No. Of the securities lawyers at my firm, only 1 has their CSC, and they had a career prior to law for which having their CSC was (arguably) relevant.