mhrads

Applying in third year, weight of summer courses

Posted (edited)

Hi y'all, 

I am a 2nd year Carleton student who is dead set on going to law school.  My question is: will good law school such as UBC, McGill, or UAlberta view me as a less desirable applicant if I apply in third year, as opposed to fourth?  I will also taking 2 summer courses and was wondering if they are weighed the same as regular fall/winter term ones.

What are my chances of being accepted in my 3rd year based on these grades from each year? (3.75/3.84/3.78, 165 LSAT) 

I understand a completed degree would be better if I decide law school is not for me, but I can not take an extra year of living in Ottawa.  I also have the option to switch my honours BA to a general BA if I am accepted.

Cheers

Edited by mhrads

Hey! It seems that all schools recommend a 4 year degree, and while open to a 3rd year entry, it is rare to get accepted barring exceptionality. Think about it - that's an extra year of proving one's ability to handle the stress of school and succeeding, and typically in 'higher' level courses. While your stats definitely seem competitive for admission to a lot of schools, I'm not sure they'd be considered exceptional by those schools you mentioned as they're comparable to the stats of people entering with 4 years. If you really can't handle Ottawa, maybe look into a transfer rather than losing your honours? Just my opinion though. Good luck 🙂

On 4/25/2020 at 9:20 PM, mhrads said:

Hi y'all, 

I am a 2nd year Carleton student who is dead set on going to law school.  My question is: will good law school such as UBC, McGill, or UAlberta view me as a less desirable applicant if I apply in third year, as opposed to fourth?  I will also taking 2 summer courses and was wondering if they are weighed the same as regular fall/winter term ones.

What are my chances of being accepted in my 3rd year based on these grades from each year? (3.75/3.84/3.78, 165 LSAT)