Sign in to follow this  
watermelonline

studying for the LSAT for the first time ever

i'm planning to take the LSAT on August 29 for the first time.

i'll likely start studying after my finals (so around the end of april). this is the first time i'll be studying any logic or lsat related stuff, ever- any tips on how to start or how to study? (i can't afford a tutor/classes so i'll be studying mostly on my own)

I studied on my own and did well; tutoring/classes definitely aren't necessary for everyone. Not all LSAT prep books are created equal, so I'd get a couple from a few different publishers (I really liked my McGraw-Hill one!) and see what works for you. Practice really does make perfect; after learning all of the question types and strategies for each, I wrote a practice LSAT once or twice a week, and spent the rest of my time reviewing question types with which I was struggling.

I believe that there's been some mention elsewhere in this forum regarding newly free LSAT prep resources, so you could take advantage of those too.

Best of luck with studying, and feel free to ask more questions!

14 hours ago, sdh92 said:

I studied on my own and did well; tutoring/classes definitely aren't necessary for everyone. Not all LSAT prep books are created equal, so I'd get a couple from a few different publishers (I really liked my McGraw-Hill one!) and see what works for you. Practice really does make perfect; after learning all of the question types and strategies for each, I wrote a practice LSAT once or twice a week, and spent the rest of my time reviewing question types with which I was struggling.

I believe that there's been some mention elsewhere in this forum regarding newly free LSAT prep resources, so you could take advantage of those too.

Best of luck with studying, and feel free to ask more questions!