mvalley2019

How do you afford law school?

I've recently been accepted to Windsor, and am waiting to hear back from Queens/U of O. 

My question for all of you, is what the real cost of law school, tuition+living etc. 

I don't have any financial support from my parents, and I would be financing my education entirely on my own. I would assume I would qualify for some financial aid/bursaries/student loans. Also a note, I'm a BC resident but would attending law school in Ontario, so I guess my government loans would be through the BC government. Anyone know the average amount you can get for law school through government loans? Also, are these "loans" or bursaries that you don't have to pay back? 

Thanks!  

Almost all law students take out a line of credit in addition to student loans.

• Like 1

You’ll probably borrow 75K+ if you have no savings or financial support. 

Could be a lot more if you go to one of the more expensive law schools, don’t like to stick to a budget/deprive yourself of things (like me). 

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

I don't know about BC residents, but for Ontario residents, OSAP seemed to cap out at about 11k a year. It might be lower now thanks to Dougie. But needless to say, tuition was more than that. 

I received some bursaries/financial aid from the university and a student line of credit made up the difference.

All told I probably added about 25k in OSAP debt and 55k in SLOC. 😭

2 hours ago, TheAEGIS said:

I don't know about BC residents, but for Ontario residents, OSAP seemed to cap out at about 11k a year. It might be lower now thanks to Dougie. But needless to say, tuition was more than that. 

is this for law school? I had some friends that told me they get 15k during undergrad