watermelonline

2nd year undergrad student already stressed for the LSAT and admissions

hey! i'm a second year undergrad student. i'm aiming to get into u of t law. i know it's very competitive, to say the least. i have no idea whatsoever in how to start studying for the LSAT. any tips for a beginner? 

also, what kind of extracurriculars or volunteering should i do? i have nothing special to write in my personal essays. 

i would appreciate any help at all,

thanks so much! 

Worry about the LSAT after you finish your 3rd year of school. There's no point studying that early, especially since you'll need to do well in school in addition to the LSAT, and the latter can have an impact on the former.

Do extracurriculars or volunteering that you are passionate in. Admissions committees (and people hiring in the future) aren't stupid and can smell padded resumes a mile away. Being passionate about one thing is better than having 10 random extracurriculars like serving as secretary of meaningless undergrad clubs.

30 minutes ago, Rashabon said:

Worry about the LSAT after you finish your 3rd year of school. There's no point studying that early, especially since you'll need to do well in school in addition to the LSAT, and the latter can have an impact on the former.

I don't think it's a bad idea to start early on the LSAT as long as it doesn't get in the way of school.  I just studied in the summer after first year and got it out of the way during the first week of 2nd year.  Contrary to school affecting LSAT, I think the necessary skills you need to do well on it can actually help you do even better at school - LR and RC for writing well-structured and logical essays, LG for applying rules better in language classes, etc.