WellThisSucks

3L who has not been offered a single interview throughout law school

With only three months of law school remaining, I am unsure of what steps to take.

• During the 1L summer I offered to volunteer with numerous law firms but was unsuccessful
  • I did some travelling over 1L summer and worked at my friend's transportation start-up over 2L summer
  • Since the start of 2L, I have applied to virtually every opening I have seen in multiple provinces in many areas of law
  • I believe I have decent work experience, I worked as an assistant finance manager at a car dealership for many years prior to law school 
  • My GPA in law school is just below 3. My undergrad in business was 3.6, with Dean's List for some semesters 
  • I have volunteered with PBSC, Student Legal Help, and the free legal guidance clinic in my city
  • I have had my resume and cover letter examined by a few people, including career advisors at two different law schools 
  • I have gone to numerous networking events since 2L, including many CBA lunchtime meetings
  • I have had coffee with people from 15+ different entities in my city
  • I am a visible minority and speak 2 languages in addition to English 

Many students in my predicament are worried about securing an articling position. I share this concern, but cannot seem to figure out why a single place won't interview me. 

Any advice is appreciated. Thank you. 

It isn’t advice so much as the reassurance that prospective employers have no way of knowing they are your first interview. You will carry that in your head but it will not be held against you externally. Don’t forget that as you keep going. 
And do keep going. It’s disheartening and awful (and a bad time of year to feel that way) but even when you shovel shit from a sitting position you do actually make progress, even if it’s largely one of elimination. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1