CanadaLawStudent

Is a dual JD/MA in History useful for anything?

So Western University offers combined/dual JD programs with four other master’s programs - MBA, MSc Geology, MSc Geophyiscs, and MA History. The reason for the dual MBA/JD’s existence is obvious, and I understand why there would be a dual JD with geology/geophysics (mining law; though someone correct me if I’m wrong), but what would be the use for a combined JD and MA in History? I’m curious - I’m an undergrad history student and I’m really interested in history, though I might only consider this program if it opens up opportunities (as a history degree by itself isn’t really useful in terms of the job market).

Edited by CanadaLawStudent

It may be for those who want to go the legal historian/academic route. And even then, you may not even need the MA. The handful of legal history professors I’ve heard of all had law degrees, but none had a MA in history. 

I’m sure it would be good for fulfilling a Passion for studying history, and maybe you could jump ship to become a history professor if laws not for you. Only two practical applications I can imagine, besides being a interesting (if not excessive) talking point for your resume. Like more pure art graduate degrees I imagine it’s mostly a passion project. 

I had a history professor in undergrad that did his LLB and MA in History at Queen's. He later went on to do his PhD. He's a legal historian and says that law school was invaluable for helping him understand the content. That said, I'm not sure it has much of a use outside that. 

Any idea if legal historians are in demand? Apparently the job market for historians (in general) is oversaturated - is it different for legal historians?

29 minutes ago, CanadaLawStudent said:

Any idea if legal historians are in demand? Apparently the job market for historians (in general) is oversaturated - is it different for legal historians?