Frogman

Why law school?

A lifelong friend of mine has questioned me on why I should be going to law school if I have never worked in a law firm. 

I want to hear from the community whether or not you had experience in a law firm prior to applying to law school. If not, how did you know you wanted to become a lawyer?

I'd wager that >95% of law students have never worked in a law firm before attending law school.

Your friend's question should not dissuade you from law school whatsoever. 

As for your other question: why do YOU want to go to law school? What is pulling you in that direction? 

Learning the law? Money? Prestige? Helping others? Serving the community? A combination of some or all? 

That is a question only you can answer yourself.

Edited by JaysFan364
  • Like 1

This would make a perfect flaw question in the logical reasoning section of the LSAT (damn you LSAC for haunting me all these years)

Anyway OP, I’m currently in my second year of law school and I can tell you that the majority of the students here still haven’t worked at a law firm yet and there’s nothing wrong with that. Your friend is just being a naive donkey. 

Edited by GingerBreadCookie
  • Like 1
  • Haha 3

12 hours ago, Astrowelkyn said:

I agree with your friend. That is why I didn't apply to medical school, because I didn't take the initiative to perform a heart transplant.

I don't think you can get into med school without significant volunteer work in a hospital or other caregiving setting like a distress line.

If it's implicit in your post that medical school is a significantly more selective and rigorous program of professional training then law school, then I agree 100%

Edited by Eeee