CliveMc

Should one pursue the easiest and quickest road to get articling out of the way?

Hello everyone. I have been searching for an articling position since last Fall and had no success. I actually have quite few contacts who were able to refer me to firms/practitioners they know but none of them were taking/willing to take an articling student. 

A little bit of background. I graduated from law school quite few years ago and have since worked in non-law related areas, originally in the GTA area and eventually I relocated to BC because my mother have moved back here (her hometown) and she needs regular assistance. Since last year, I have been trying to come back to law. But in addition to those few years of hiatus which some, if not most, employers would consider a competitive disadvantage, I did not even get good grades at law school (50% range, perhaps even slightly below average, since I got one C and a D in crim law, mostly B and B-, at U of T). I believe all those factors are making me pretty noncompetitive in the articling scene, so that even when the articling season starts and most firms will be looking to hire someone, my chance of getting a desirable position will be slim. On top of this, I want to get into an area that's quite competitive - I'm looking to do wills & estate admin and estate , perhaps taxation too - and the places that offer practice in those areas are mostly highly prestigious and selective corporate law firms that I feel I have basically no chance of getting in even knowing contacts.  

My only advantage is that through my years of work, I have a large potential client pool that I think I would be able to get a sole practice started without too much trouble.