DMB

NCA Examinations

Hello everyone!

I wonder if anyone has had any experience with the NCA examinations recently and could possibly provide any insight. I have moved to Canada from the U.K where I studied law both at undergraduate (LLB) and masters (LLM) levels. I have been assigned the 5 mandatory NCA examinations and looking at the syllabus I am curious as to the level of study required and the difficulty of these examinations. I have seen on forums and elsewhere that if you have 'good access to notes' many people claim to not have bought the reading material books required and others claim that if you found law school examinations straight forward or scored highly then it shouldn't be an issue. 

Ideally I'm trying to gain some information on how onerous sitting the exams would be while working a full time job (and of course trying to have a life) and if I could sit all 5 in one sitting. Any insight into the most efficient way to revise and any other useful tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

I am in the same position as you, trying to study for NCAs while maintaining life.  I have heard Canadian foundations is the most difficult one, but have to give the exam myself.  

How are you studying? Did you acquire all the books or notes? I'm curious as to how people typically go about revising for the examinations.

Hey!

I just recently finished my NCA exams (I had to write 7).  I received my law degree in the UK as well so hopefully I can be of some help.

I wouldn't say that the NCA exams are too onerous - but they should be taken seriously.  I've always been of the opinion that not buying the materials is kind of shooting yourself in the foot because you're learning summaries of other people's understanding.  In saying that, I did buy summaries, but they were more used as a tool for the exam once I knew the material.