Sign in to follow this  
1ceman

When to Ask for A Percentage of Billings

Hi everyone, 

I've been working in the GTA for a boutique business firm for about 18 months (2018 call). As of now, I'm labeled as the firm's  "Litigation Associate", although I like to think that I have become the front-line lawyer for all things litigation; my principal (who is fantastic) has become more of an overseer. I draft the materials (motion records, facta, pleadings, etc.), and she reviews when I ask for her opinion. It's clear that she is gradually removing herself the day-to-day operation of the firm, especially on the litigation front.

It's a great relationship, but more responsibility than I envisioned when I first joined the firm. When it comes to litigation, the files range from employment/wrongful dismissal, to construction lien files, to shareholder disputes. The diversity is great as no file is the same, but with that comes added stress. I'm now attending mediations on my own, as well as discoveries, opposed motions, etc. A great experience, but the learning curve has been steeper than I planned. Doing solely barrister work is also starting to take a toll, and I would like to delve into more solicitor work in 2020. For me, balance is key, and litigation alone is not a sustainable practice. I also feel like a more diverse CV will also bode well if I choose a different career path (i.e. in-house) down the line.