tamnou

Canadian law school vs training contract uk

Hi everyone, 

I'm a Belgian student here at the University of Manchester. I have applied to a bunch of Canadian law school including McGill, UoT and Ottawa. However, many law or nn-law students are getting the opportunity to get offered a training contract. For those who do not know what it is, the big city (London) firms will sponsor a student for their GDL (Law conversion course) and then the LPC to become a solicitor. After that the student works for 2 years at the law firm with a high salary for a trainee.

I'm hesitant about going all the way to Canada if there are more opportunities here in the UK or find myself unemployed because it is even more competitive in Canada. 

Can you give me your opinion about that? 

What Hedgis said is entirely correct. Based on the information you've provided, you seemingly won't accrue much debt and you already have a job lined up. Why did you apply to those Canadian law schools and incidentally why are you contemplating settling here after graduation? Your post is rather vague on your motivations.

In order to make any decision on that choice, you'd need to dwell on your long-term future (and to be honest, it's a bit of an odd thing not to have done beforehand, since the routes lead to some very divergent possibilities).

Do you want to live in Canada long-term? If so, do you want to live in Quebec? If not, why did you want to get a law degree from Canadian/Quebecois universities? If you want to live in Canada long-term, have you looked into the different requirements for Permanent Residency for people who want to settle in Quebec v settling elsewhere in Canada? (and if so, have you thought about that in deciding between McGill in QC, and Ottawa/T in ON?)