ABguy

Bringing in Work / Importance of "College" Network

Hello all, first off I am not a lawyer nor law student (yet) so apologies if this is in the wrong subforum but I figured its the best place to ask. 

This may come off incredibly douchey but I'm quite simply looking for some advice from those further along in the careers. For a little bit of background about me, I'm lucky enough to come from an upper-middle class "legal family" in that many of my family members are or were lawyers/justices/etc. This means that I have a ton of connections (some close enough that I've been told I could work at their firm(s), some more distant) in the legal community in my hometown (Calgary) and more broadly in Edmonton and Vancouver. Also, a bunch of people I've become friends with from sports and throughout college (think good friends for 5-10+ years) are incredibly wealthy and well-connected (think between $10-100mm family net worth, with a couple probably exceeding $500mm). 

Now, my immediate thinking is that these relationships essentially mean jack shit for bringing in work in the business world ~5-10 years down the road, but I'm curious if anyone else has experience to the contrary. I simply ask because I'm considering making the move to Ontario or even the USA for law school / life (personal reasons) but fear I'd be losing potential clientele in the future given that these guys are almost all entirely based in Alberta. Thoughts? 

Wealthy people stay wealthy by making deals with other wealthy people. Your network of individuals, whom I imagine wear a sweater over their shoulders and carry a tennis racket over their shoulder whenever they leave the house, will likely be valuable in your career. However, I wouldn't bet my career, happiness, or geography on it. 

• Like 1
  • Haha 1

10 minutes ago, setto said: