Sign in to follow this  
Foreverwaiting123

Cold emailing firms for articling - how to ask people for referrals

I am a 3L student and have started cold emailing firms for articling. Even though I've tried customizing my emails to those firms, I haven't had much luck. One of the firms I plan to cold email has done previous pro bono work with a professor I am writing a directed research paper with. I know that having a connection or referral to a firm will grab that firm's attention, however, how does one go about getting that referral? Do I straight-out ask the professor that I'm interested in a firm she has worked with, and if I can name drop her? Or will I need the professor to literally refer me to that firm? (as in they need to decide whether they recommend me).

Also any advice with cold emailing would also be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

9 hours ago, Lawyertobe123 said:

I would just ask your professor if you can use her as a reference 

This would allow me to put her name in the subject title of the email? Ie "Articling Inquiry - Referred by Professor __." ? 

20 minutes ago, Foreverwaiting123 said:

This would allow me to put her name in the subject title of the email? Ie "Articling Inquiry - Referred by Professor __." ? 

I think he meant as a reference letter.

There's no one right way to do this, and the options available to you might depend on your relationship with the professor. If you have a good relationship with her, why not just talk to her about it? You can ask outright for an introduction, or leave it open for her to offer. I'd say something like this: