Marlo

NY bar to Ontario Bar

Hi All,

I'm currently a T14 grad at at op tier NYC big law firm. Honestly, I miss home want to practice in Toronto. 

We often engage bay street firms as Canadian counsel (Stikeman/McCarthy)  and given resume and those relationships I am not too worried about finding employment in Toronto assuming I can get barred in Ontario. 

I am barred in NY and want to start the process to get admitted in Ontario. I have enough saved to take the time to study for the exams but I am really lost regarding the process and estimation from beginning to end. I've been barred less than 5 years.

Not os sound too cocky, I'm generally a quick learner. I had a 95% percentile NY bar exam score (closed book) while completing half the study course). Also, not doing readings and just cramming the week before finals worked very well for me in law school. 

Thanks in advance. 

Seriously? You've been on this forum for years. This has been discussed ad nauseum. 

1. Apply to the NCA. Wait 1-3 months for assessment. You will get 5 exams.

2. Register to take the NCA exams (given 4x/year). 

3. Study for and take them. Wait 3 months for results.

I'd estimate the above will take you 6 months to one year, depending on how many you take at once. You could probably take all 5 at once if you have good outlines.